Betrayal - Renaissance By Death (CD) Remastered - 2019 Girder Records

  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.99

Pre-Order Info: Place a separate order for in-stock titles or they will be held till this pre-order ships. 


For fans of Believer, Deliverance, Slayer, Exodus, Overkill, Testament, Tourniquet, The Crucified, Detritus, D.R.I.
  • 6 Bonus Tracks. Includes the 2-song cassette single release of Fear Be Gone and Fallen Deceived as well as the 4-Song EP 'Reviling Darkness'. 
  • 12 Page Booklet in a Jewel Case 
  • Remastered by by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound
  • Release Dates: CDs Sept/Oct 2019


If you've followed Christian thrash for very long we probably don't need to tell you how sought after Betrayal is and to finally get both of their albums remastered is something that every single Thrash enthusiast has been dreaming of.  We've been working on making these reissues happen since last year.  We are thrilled that now that we are into the 2nd half of 2019 we can finally make it official and let you in on this tightly guarded secret.  Both Betrayal albums 'Renaissance By Death' (1991 Wonderland) as well as 'The Passing' (1993 Wonderland) are getting remastered by the great Rob Colwell. To make it even more special we will be releasing these on Vinyl as well as CD.  Both CDs are going to made immediately available as well as the Vinyl of 'Renaissance By Death'. We will do 'The Passing' on vinyl a bit later on.

All order will come with RipStream digital downloads when it ships.

If you order the bundle, you'll get the free Betrayal shaped sticker as well as the limited edition button pack.  The bundles are limited to the first 100, which will also come with a 8 page booklet thanks to Chris Akerman (lead vocalist) who is providing us tons of great historical photos, flyers, original lyric sheets and much more.  

Renaissance by Death includes the cassette-single release of 'FEAR BE GONE' and 'FALLEN DECEIVED (Industrial Remix)' as well as the 1991 4-Song Demo EP Reviling Darkness 


Who is Betrayal?

Betrayal was a forerunner of technical thrash metal.  The band was formed early on as Martyr, but after a few personnel changes, they changed their name to Betrayal.  Betrayal was actually considered a new band, separate from Martyr, but however you label them, their first album, 'Renaissance By Death' set the standard for techincal thrash metal. This album has been completely remastered and now includes both songs from their "Fear Be Gone" cassette single, as well as the 4-song Demo, Reviling Darkness from 1991.  The album is a mixture of progressive thrash, dark gothic overtones, somber acoustic passages, and even hints of early death metal. It’s furious and technical. A spiritual assault on the forces of darkness.

Both of these masterpieces are complete unadulterated thrash onslaughts mixing west coast thrash metal, and old school speed-metal with some early hardcore elements which comes through in the vocals.

Renaissance By Death starts off with this incredible instrumental that is epic with keys, dulcimer and then dives deep into a dark minor doom-like progression that is slow and dark. The second song The Invitation sets the tone for this albums that kicks into high gear with turns and with speed fluctuations. Double bass, non-growling vocals abound on this album with some very unique guitar tones. The vocals are reminiscent of early Crucified, Believer and Slayer.  The album also boast some of the greatest song titles such as Mortal Flesh, Prophets of Baal, Escaping the Altar and more.  However this version will contain correct spelling of all song titles. ; ) 

Marcus N. Colon - Lead & Rhythm Guitars, BGVs
Matt Maners - Lead Rhythm Guitars
Chris Ackerman - Lead Vocals
Jeff Lain - Bass Guitar
Brian Meuse - Drums

  1. Renaissance By Death
  2. The Invitation
  3. Fallen Deceived
  4. More Faith Than Me
  5. Escaping the Altar
  6. Assassins In the Midst
  7. Mortal Flesh
  8. Stroll Thru a Wicked Age
  9. Prophets of Baal
  10. Plead the Blood
    6 Bonus Tracks
  11. Fear Be Gone (Single) - Not on Original Album. 
  12. Fallen Deceived (Industrial Remix)
    + Reviling Darkness 4-Song EP (1991)
  13. Prophets of Baal 
  14. Fear Be Gone
  15. Frantic
  16. When Darkness Reigns