Betrayal - The Passing (CD) Remastered - 2019 Girder Records w/bonuses

  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.99



  • For fans of Believer, Deliverance, Slayer, Exodus, Overkill, Testament, Tourniquet, The Crucified, Detritus, D.R.I.
  • Legends of Rock Series
  • 8 Page booklet
  • Remastered by by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound
  • Includes Guest Vocalist Chris Scott - PRECIOUS DEATH and Jimmy Brown of DELIVERANCE


If you've followed Christian thrash for very long we probably don't need to tell you how sought after Betrayal is and to finally get both of their albums remastered is something that every single Thrash enthusiast has been dreaming of.  We've been working on making these reissues happen since last year.  We are thrilled that now that we are into the 2nd half of 2019 we can finally make it official and let you in on this tightly guarded secret.  Both Betrayal albums 'Renaissance By Death' (1991 Wonderland) as well as 'The Passing' (1993 Wonderland) are getting remastered by the great Rob Colwell. To make it even more special we will be releasing these on Vinyl as well as CD.  Both CDs are going to made immediately available as well as the Vinyl of 'Renaissance By Death'. We will do 'The Passing' on vinyl a bit later on.

Vincent van Gogh was a Dutch post-impressionist painter who is the most influential figure of Western art. His works of art are sensational and striking, characterized by bold colors and dramatic, impulsive and expressive brushwork that contributed to the foundations of modern art. There is no better way to describe the 1993 progressive thrash metal masterpiece by Betrayal, The Passing. Listening to The Passing is like watching a master painter with a blank canvas, creating one of the most beautiful pieces your mind could imagine or comprehend. The musical canvas of The Passing evokes the emptiness, redemption, betrayal, and triumph of our human experience. It’s more than just maniacal thrashing. It’s more than thundering and frantic double bass drumming. It’s more than eerie and dissonant thrash metal vocal perfection. It’s more than relentless, shredding guitars so technical and sharp they just might cut. The Passing is the zenith of artistic expression.


Who is Betrayal?

Betrayal was a forerunner of technical speed metal.  The band was formed early on as Martyr and after a few personnel changed their name to Betrayal. Their first album, 'Renaissance By Death' set the standard for thrash metal and soon after they released their second album 'The Passing' and then disappeared, but not before making a major impact on the Christian Metal market.  Both albums were originally released on Wonderland Records who also owned Intense Records (Vengeance, Sacred Warrior, Deliverance) before selling it off to Frontline Music. 

Both of these masterpieces are complete unadulterated trash onslaughts mixing west coast thrash metal, and old school speed-metal with some early hardcore elements which comes through in the vocals.

The Passing, Betrayals second album, is a polished production with more industrial influences than their first. It's still Thrash but it's clear that these guys are now seasoned and great at their craft.  Like the difference between Barren Cross 'Atomic Arena' and 'State of Control' or the difference between Stryper's 'Yellow and Black Attack' and 'Soldiers Under Command'.  All great albums but just more polished and time taken to make a stunning quality piece of work. "The Usurper" their second track takes you thrash journey of heavy breakdowns while the songs 'Ichabod' and 'Race of Hypocrisy' are 4 mins each of amazing technical progression and proficiency slowing down for 'Forest of Horrors' and 'Whispers of Chaos'. One listen through it'll become quite clear why although they put out only 2 albums in the 90's they remain favorites of thrash enthusiast across the globe. 

For fans of Believer, Deliverance, Slayer, Exodus, Overkill, Testament, Tourniquet, The Crucified, Detritus, 


Chris Ackerman - Lead Vocals
Marcus N. Colon - Lead & Rhythm Guitars, BGVs
Bob McCue - Lead & Rhythm Guitars
Jeff Lain - Bass Guitar
Jeff Mason - Drums


  1. Renouncement
  2. The Usurper
  3. Carnival of Madness
  4. Ichabod
  5. Forest of Horrors
  6. Race of Hypocricy
  7. As I Turned Away
  8. Whispers of Chaos
  9. Strength of the Innocent
  10. Retaliatory Strike
  11. Frantic