Ken Tamplin - Axe To Grind + 3 Bonus Tracks (GOLD DISC)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $24.00


We strongly encourage insurance, available at checkout. Insurance covers your entire order.

While many fans and critics have often touted Ken’s work with Shout (In Your Face) and Magdallan (Big Bang) as his best releases, the series of “solo” albums he released between 1990 and 1995 were quite impressive as well, particularly the self-titled album in 1993 and this gem An Axe to Grind, which was originally released in 1990 under the moniker of Ken Tamplin & Friends. We have included 3 addl. bonus tracks which will now come on this Gold Disc CD along with a 12 page booklet in Jewel Case format. The Vinyl will include as many songs as we can possibly fit on it. One this is for certain it will be a translucent blue with white/black splatter and will come with lyrics liner notes and a wonderful write-up from our friend Johnathan "Doc" Swank.  Both the CD and Vinyl are going to be treasures to own and your speakers are about to explode.

To fans of Christian hard rock and melodic metal from the late 1980’s and early ‘90’s Ken Tamplin needs no introduction. His extremely dynamic vocal range and powerful delivery, combined with his ability to produce smartly constructed and lavishly mixed compositions, resulted in memorable music – music which certainly raised the quality meter to the highest levels within the Christian market at the time and simultaneously garnered credibility for Christian hard rock and melodic metal worldwide. Most critics would agree An Axe To Grind was his most diverse record to date when it was originally released in 1990 and the talents he employed were quite remarkable (Lanny Cordola along with new sensation Scott Van Zen on guitars, Chuck Wright on bass, Roger Mielke on keyboards and Ken Mary on drums – among others). Furthermore, many of the musical ideas and styles on Axe later showed up in some form or another on the legendary Big Bang album. In that regard, the songs here stand up well on their own merit – have held up well over time – and are therefore rightfully deserving of new life and a fresh listen as part of Girder Records Legends Of Rock series.

Featuring These Players

Ken Tamplin (Shout / Joshua / Magdallan) Vocals/Guitars
Scott Van Zen (FOX / ESPN / MTV / VH1) Guitars
Lanny Cordola (Giuffria / House of Lords / Magdallan) Guitars
Ken Mary (House of Lords / Chastain / Impellitteri) Drums
Chuck Wright (House of Lords / Quiet Riot) Bass
Joey Tafolla  (Jag Panzer) Guitars
Mark St. John (Kiss / White Tiger) Guitars


  1. Livin' For My Lord (4:54)
  2. The Continuing Saga Of Screwtape & Wormwood (0:30)
  3. Going All The Way (4:08)
  4. Never Give Up (5:16)
  5. Music Box (0:58)
  6. Not Alone (3:51)
  7. Goin' Home (5:27)
  8. Bouree In E Minor (0:44)
  9. Straight Between The Eyes (4:17)
  10. I Hear Cryin' (4:49)
  11. Armageddon (1:03)
  12. Holdin' On/The Chase (3:44)
  13. Take 'Em Back (3:22)
  14. Believin' (Is The Hardest Part) (4:21)
  15. All The Things You Are (7:18)

  16. When Secrets Cry Out Loud (Shout/Tamplin - At The Top of Their Lungs)
  17. Little Liar (Luci) (Shout/Tamplin - At The Top of Their Lungs)
  18. Take Em Back (John Jacobs and the Power Team Soundtrack)

Other Album Info

Produced by Ken Tamplin
Co-Produced by Lanny Cordola
Engineered by Roger Miekle & Ken Tamplin
Mixed by Dave Johnson
Recorded at Micronote Recording Studio, Pasadena, CA
Mixed at The Mixing Lab A, Garden Grove, CA
Keyboard Programming by Brian Fediriko & Roger Miekle
Cover Photography by Nigel Skeet
Make-up Artist: Cindy Skeet

2020 Limited Run Vinyl Notes
Liner Notes: Jonathan “Doc” Swank
Layout & Design: Scott Waters at NoLifeTilMetal